“I was not fashion conscious before I met Karan Johar,” says SOTY star, Alia Bhatt

Actress Alia Bhatt has always had an affinity for the silver-screen. The youngster was roped in for KaAlia Bhattran Johar’s fifth directorial venture, Student of the Year, and starred in the lead alongside newcomers Siddharth Malhotra and Varun Dhawan. Besides being a perfect debut, working under Karan Johar’s wing also gave Alia a better understanding of contemporary fashion.

“I was not fashion conscious before I met Karan Johar. After meeting him, I became fashion conscious,” the 19-year-old said. Speaking about just how she bagged the role for the film, Alia Bhatt recently stated in an interview, “I got a call from Dharma Productions asking for my pictures. Then I met Karan (Johar) and he asked me to audition for the role. By then Varun Dhawan and Siddharth Malhotra were already on board. Karan told me I had to lose weight. He put me on a diet program with Zarine Watson. Five months later we did a test shoot. I still remember the day when Karan gifted me this giant cup cake. I was busy gorging on it, when he told my mom that he would be directing the film and wanted me for the lead role.”

Being famous and at the center of attraction constantly, Alia has recently been subjected to several rumors that claim her to be dating her SOTY co-star, Siddharth Malhotra. Putting these claims down, Alia said, “I don’t really care about people discussing my personal life. I’m fond of Varun and Sid but no I’m not going out with either. And no, I have no boyfriend in Bandra. A boyfriend doesn’t really fit into my scheme of things right now. My boyfriend is Student of the Year.”

Leave a comment